Italy – Charm and beauty

When in Rome I tried to visit many other places outside the city. Train fares in Italy aren’t all that expensive and Italy has so many interesting places that it would be a crime not to visit all the beauty the country has to offer. In Tivoli, just an hour outside of Rome, I visited Villa d’Este, a UNESCO world heritage site and undoubtedly one of the most beautiful gardens in the world.

I passed through Trieste on my way to Croatia and I loved the relaxed atmosphere, the proximity to the water and the old townhouses.

In Firenze I visited most of the museums but my favorite place was the Giardino di Boboli. After a long and exhausting day of wandering around the city, the Boboli Gardens are a place to relax. With spectacular views of the city and the Tuscan countryside, the gardens will take your breath away.

In November 2013 I visited the Amalfi coast. The weather was terrible and even the locals  told me it was the worst storm they’d had in years. Even still, every now and then I could see a tiny patch of blue sky and three brave swimmers took to the cold water for their early morning swim. During the summer months this is the place to be and I can easily imagine why, the village has that old 60s charm and beauty.

2 thoughts on “Italy – Charm and beauty

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

