Rome – La grande bellezza

Last week I went on a short trip to Rome, Italy. I go there once or twice a year to visit friends and I’m always glad to go back. This time was no different. The city was at its most beautiful, the autumn colors gave the city a golden glow and with temperatures rising up to 24 degrees Celsius it was the perfect time. I wandered around the city, did some shopping and spent time at my favorite place, the Orto Botanico in the Trastevere neighborhood. Apparently many Romans don’t even know where the botanical gardens are but it is a place I visit every time because it is so calm and quiet compared to the traffic in the city centre.

I also went to several exhibitions. At the Scuderie del Quirinale there was a great Memling exhibition with works by the Flemish painter as well as his inspiration Rogier van der Weyden. I went to the Maxxi whose exhibition “Open museum, open city” disappointed me greatly and I left after about half an hour. The day after I went to an exhibition about Italian painter Mario Sironi which was just as interesting for its history as it was for its painting. But my favorite exhibition was the one held at Palazzo Sciarra about illustrator, painter and photographer Norman Rockwell. I will write a separate blog post about him in the coming days.

During my stay in Rome I also bought Sophia Loren’s biography, a pair of ridiculously expensive earrings, I met many new and interesting people, ate a lot of pasta and drank many cappuccino’s at Caffè della Pace. But then again, that’s how one should enjoy Rome and I cannot wait to go back!

 

One thought on “Rome – La grande bellezza

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

