Leysin, Switzerland

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.” – Lewis Carroll

I went on a short holiday to Switzerland last week. There really is nothing like those snowy mountaintops, the fresh air and the glow of a winter sun. I admit I’m not a winter person at all but a holiday in the mountains can be so energizing and it’s become a yearly ritual.

When I arrived in Leysin I was quite sad because there was no snow whatsoever. Everyone was talking about what a terrible winter season it had been so far. But that same night it started snowing and I woke up to a winter wonderland. My friend and I made long walks in the mountains and we literally had to plow our way through the snow which was very exhausting and time consuming but the views were spectacular! On the third day we walked 15km in a little over 3 hours time. When we reached the top, Mayen, I was so exhausted my legs were shaking. It took vegetable soup and two Snickers to get me back to my normal state. But it was so worth it! We arrived at the hotel at dusk and the sky was a mixture of pink and purple which gave the snow a blue glow. It couldn’t have been better. Afterwards we celebrated our victory by eating a fabulous cheese raclette and drinking cups of Caotina hot chocolate by a warm fire.

 

2 thoughts on “Leysin, Switzerland

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

