Women’s rights in Myanmar

I recently returned from a trip to Myanmar where I did research on women’s rights as part of a masterclass on visual story telling with The Caravan’s Journal. My time was divided between Yangon and Inle Lake  where I spoke to several women to learn more about their lives, their hopes and dreams for the future.

I interviewed an ambitious young woman who interned at a film production company in Yangon and was determined to make her own documentary about disabled women in Myanmar. I spoke to a woman who was the leader of a coffee plantation near Inle Lake as part of a USAID funded program. She is a prime example of a woman’s ability to be a manager and an entrepreneur. I spoke to Pa’O women in a tiny village near Inle Lake. The Pa’O are one of the largest ethnic minorities in Myanmar and the myth goes that the women descend from female dragons, representing power and strength. Last but certainly not least I was welcomed into the home of a wonderful Muslim family in Yangon. They lived in such poverty and yet were so very generous in showing me around.

For those interested in reading my article on women’s rights in Myanmar, it was published by Apache newsgroup and can be found here (in Dutch).

For more photos, follow me on Instagram here.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

